RTD Smart Cards

By now, most of you know that RTD is transitioning Eco Passes and Student Passes to Smart Cards. Many of you have had questions about how that will work. We’ll try to answer those questions here:

How do I use my smart card?
Like this.

When can I start using my smart card?
Faculty/staff cards are available now, (where?) and you will be able to start using them on January 1, 2013. Until then, please continue to use your 2012 sticker. Student cards will be available in January. We’ll send out an email when they are available, and once you pick one up you’ll be able to start using it right away.

Does the smart card replace my student or faculty ID?
No.

Can I punch a hole in the card to attach it to a lanyard?
No. If you punch a hole in the card or bend it excessively, it will stop working.

What happens if my card is lost or damaged?
The Pioneer ID Card Office can replace your lost or damaged smart card for a fee of $10.

19 thoughts on “RTD Smart Cards

  1. I do not know if it’s just me or if everyone else encountering issues with your blog.
    It seems like some of the text within your posts are running off the screen. Can somebody else please comment and let
    me know if this is happening to them too? This could be a issue with my browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Appreciate it

  2. Hi thsre would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m planning to sfart my own blog soon but I’m having a tough time makibg
    a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    Thhe reason I aask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.

    P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  3. Sweest blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any tips on how to geet listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Manny thanks

  4. Heya i’m for the primary time here. I came across tthis
    bolard and I find It truly helpful & it helped me out a lot.
    I’m hoping to present one thing back and aid others like
    you aided me.

  5. I’ve been browsing online more thyan 2 hous today, yet I never found any interesting
    article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough forr me.
    Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did,
    the net willl be a lot more useful than ever before.

  6. The best thing to do would be to put the smart card into a card holder and attach the lanyard to that. Starting on January 22, we will have a limited number of card holders to hand out in the Transportation Center. Please feel free to come by to get one. RTD created the cards to work with their new system, so we do not have control over whether or not holes can be punched in them. We are only printing the photos and names on them and handing them out.

    As for replacing a lost or damaged card, it will only take a few minutes to print a new card.

  7. > If you punch a hole in the card or bend it excessively, it will stop working.

    So, for the thousands of people who have come to rely on lanyards for their card, what is your proposed solution?

    It would have been simple to mark a small region of the cards that could be punched, or pre-punch the cards during fabrication. Please STRONGLY consider that next time.

    > The Pioneer ID Card Office can replace your lost or damaged smart card for a fee of $10.
    How long does it take to receive the replacement card?

Please leave your comments!

